

President: Dame Cleo Laine

Chair: Sarah Faulder Deputy-Chairman: Peter Filleul Honorary Treasurer: Joanne Prowse Administrator: Fiona Harvey

PRESS RELEASE

Tuesday 5 January 2010

NATIONAL MUSIC COUNCIL ANNOUNCES SARAH FAULDER AS NEW CHAIR OF THE ORGANISATION

At the National Music Council's (NMC) Annual General Meeting, Sarah Faulder (Sound and Music) was elected as Chair of the NMC. The Executive Committee members are: Deputy-Chairman, Peter Filleul (Association of Professional Recording Services); Honorary Treasurer, Joanne Prowse (PRS for Music); Deborah Annetts (Incorporated Society of Musicians), Jenny Goodwin (Music Publishers Association), Chris Hodgkins (Jazz Services), Paul McManus (Music Industries Association), Robin Osterley (Making Music), Mark Pemberton (Association of British Orchestras), Diane Widdison (Musicians' Union) and John Witchell (Music Education Council) who is a co-opted member of the Executive Committee. The previous Chair, Robin Osterley, stepped down after serving in this role for 9 years.

Sarah Faulder's most recent role was Public Affairs Director for PRS for Music, where she was able to apply her extensive legal and music industry knowledge and experience, both in Brussels and Whitehall, in furthering the interests of composers and songwriters. Sarah had been a copyright specialist for 16 years at City law firm Taylor Wessing (as it is now called) before being appointed Chief Executive of the Music Publishers Association and latterly Chargee de Mission at BIEM and CISAC, the Paris based umbrella organisations for collecting societies from all over the world.

Sarah Faulder said: "I am honoured to have been elected Chair of the National Music Council and look forward to working with the Executive Committee to ensure that the organisation goes on to fulfil its potential. The NMC is uniquely placed to represent all organisations throughout the UK and Northern Ireland concerned with the creation, development and performance of music. I will see that the NMC maximises its influence on behalf of its ever

60/62 Clapham Road, London SW9 0JJ, United Kingdom Tel: +44 20 7422 8297 Fax: +44 870 706 5329

Email: info@nationalmusiccouncil.org.uk Website: www.nationalmusiccouncil.org.uk

National Music Council of Great Britain Registered Charity No. 249178

growing membership to ensure that music is properly supported and valued and remains at the heart of the cultural, economic, social and educational life of our country. We are all very grateful to Robin Osterley for all his work and for steering the Council through some challenging times."

For further information please contact Fiona Harvey, National Music Council
Tel: 0870 909 2621, mobile: 07957 482814 or email: info@nationalmusiccouncil.org.uk

Notes for Editors:

Founded in 1953 under the auspices of the International Music Council and UNESCO, the National Music Council sits at the centre of a complex network of national music organisations many with their own extensive memberships. Membership is drawn from all areas of the music business and is open to organisations with an interest in music and its development in the UK.

Information: www.nationalmusiccouncil.org.uk